Vehicle Title and Registration

New Vehicle Registration  04/16/20

our office will be open for new vehicle registration only on Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays.
Through Executive Order No. 15, Governor Bill Lee extended the deadline for obtaining registration renewals that expire in March or April. The new deadline for obtaining these renewals is June 15, 2020.

Through Executive Order No. 15, Governor Bill Lee extended the deadline for obtaining registration renewals that expire in March or April. The new deadline for obtaining these renewals is June 15, 2020.

 The Tennessee Department of Revenue, Vehicle Services Division has worked with the Tennessee Department of Safety regarding leniency for certain circumstances in which a registration or temporary operating permit cannot be obtained. It has been requested to allow the acceptance of a bill of sale or signed title in hand as proof of vehicle ownership from an enforcement standpoint. Law enforcement will honor this request for the time period that coincides with the June 15, 2020 date.



Applicants will need to submit the following:

          For New Vehicles:

  • Proof of Identification
  • Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin
  • Bill of Sale
  • Copy of current registration (If you are transferring your current license plate)
  •       *In order to transfer your current license plate, the new vehicle must be titled exactly as the previous vehicle


  • For Pre-Owned Vehicles:

          Purchased from a Dealer:

  • Proof of Identification
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement, if applicable
  • Title (assigned from dealership)
  • Passed Emissions Test Certificate – All vehicles up to 10,500 pounds must be tested
  • If the vehicle is purchased from an out of County dealer, the customer is required to pay the County Wheel Tax Fee (25.75)
  • Copy of current registration (If you are transferring your current license plate)
  •       *In order to transfer your current license plate, the new vehicle must be titled exactly as the previous vehicle

Individual (Private) Purchase:

  • Proof of Identification
  • Title from previous owner (Signed on the back exactly as the name appears on the front)
  • Odometer Disclosure Statement, if applicable
  • Passed Emissions Test Certificate – All vehicles up to 10,500 pounds must be tested
  • Sales tax will be collected on purchase price of vehicle less trade-in, if any

New Residents or Those Relocating to Williamson County:

  • Proof of Identification
  • Out of State Title (If there is a lien on the vehicle, the resident will need the complete name and mailing address of their lien holder)
  • Passed Tennessee Emissions Test Certificate
  • Most current Out-of-State Registration

Fee (New) - $65.75 includes regular auto license plate, title, and wheel tax (if lien, additional $11)

Fee (Renewal) - $54.75 includes regular auto license plate fee and wheel tax

Fee (Transfer) - $14.50 (if lien, additional $11)


    Payment Methods Accepted:

  • Cash
  • Personal, in-state check payable to (Elaine Anderson, Williamson County Clerk)
  • Credit/Debit Card (additional fees – 2% of the total plus $0.25)
  •      *The County Clerk’s office does not accept American Express

 

Note: All lease vehicles require a Power of Attorney from the lessor.

          *A $2.00 lease fee is paid at the time of initial registration and for each subsequent renewal

Note: If submitting by mail, add a $3.00 Postage Fee and send to registration, emissions certificate, and check to the following address:

Williamson County Clerk

P.O. Box 624

Franklin, TN 37065-0624

Applicable Sales Tax Rate

  • 7% state tax on the purchase price less trade-in plus, 2.75% fixed-rate state sales tax on first  $1600 ($44.00 cap on state single article tax) plus 2.75% county tax on first $1600 ($44.00 cap on county sales tax) plus $1.00 Clerk’s fee

Duplicate Titles

A Duplicate Certificate of Title for a vehicle replaces a lost, stolen or altered title. In the event a duplicate title is issued, the lost, stolen or altered title becomes void and may not be used to transfer ownership or encumber the vehicle. Applicants will need to submit the following:

Note:  If applying for a duplicate title by mail, please include a copy of your driver’s license

Gifted Vehicle Requirements:

  • Proof of Identification
  • Title from previous owner (Signed on the back exactly as the name appears on the front)
  • Gift Formfilled out by both parties – giving and receiving
  • Passed Emissions Testing Certificate
  •       *If you are transferring your current plates, you will not need an emissions test (Your new       vehicle must be titled exactly like your current vehicle in order to transfer your license plate)
  • Odometer section filled in

Note:  In order to register a vehicle (new purchase or moving in from another state), the individual(s) whose name(s) the vehicle will be registered in must be present.